2019, A year of Positivity and Gratitude

2019, A year of Positivity and Gratitude

Image for post

On the first day of 2019, a lot of people around the world made their new year resolutions, I made mine also. 2019 started normal for me, as I continued my job from the previous year working as a webmaster in a StartUp company.

Along the way, I had to leave the company at the end of January based on some personal reasons. Then I resolved to go back fully into Software Development only and never looking back, I needed to get back fully on track and also improve more on myself with the so many emerging technologies in the industry. I took a month break to improve myself so I traveled to Ibadan where I stayed with a fellow developer turned brother Oseni Luthfulahi. Three weeks into my stay at his place, I started applying actively for jobs again. I applied to various companies and attended so many interviews, I faced rejection from most. One of the interviews I attended was at Tavia Technologies, it was an internship role. I returned to Ibadan and applied to be a mentor for the just concluded ALC 4.0 program. I also joined CodeCradle, a community dedicated to teaching kids how to code. I built for them their landing page website and also a little Wordpress blog which was used for registration of new learners.

Towards the end of April, I got a call to resume work in Tavia Technology to begin my 6months paid internship, in addition to my FrontEnd Development skills, I will have to learn C#, .NET framework and also SharePoint Development. 6months later, I finished tops of the Academy as a Software/SharePoint Developer with improved skills using JavaScript(MERN stack) and C#(.Net Framework and SharePoint Development).

In between my internship, ALC 4.0 officially kicked off and it was really a boost for my passion to learn. I became more hungry for knowledge and experience as the learners came with different issues, from bugs to guiding them with the best way to learn, amongst other things

2019 was really a good year as I fully surpassed my expectations for the year in my quest for knowledge. I remain indebted to Tavia Technologies for the wonderful opportunity given to me and my colleagues in the academy, I also want to thank CodeCradle for inspiring me to extend my tentacles even when they knew Tavia will be taking me from them. ALC also really provided for me the platform to really help people in their respective journies in my little way, I met wonderful people amongst the learners and mentors. I really appreciate Oseni Luthfulahi, all Unilag ALC learners and also ALC Lagos mentors, you guys are the BEST.

2019 thought me never to limit my dreams by making New Year resolutions.

2020 is less than 2hrs and I will be going into the New year, New decade with absolutely no New Year resolutions, no expectations from anyone. In this incoming year, I promise to seize the moment, grab every good opportunity that comes my way

A NEW YEAR, ANOTHER OPPORTUNITY TO BECOME WORLDCLASS